Florence and Giles - John Harding, HarperCollins, 2011

10,44 €

Pri nákupe nad 49 €
poštovné zadarmo
Florence and Giles - John Harding, HarperCollins, 2011
Florence and Giles - John Harding, HarperCollins, 2011

Florence and Giles

A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher. 1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan... Čítať viac

1. diel série
Florence and Giles
Vydavateľstvo
HarperCollins, 2011
240 strán
3-4 hodiny čítania

A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher. 1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading... Čítať viac

  • Brožovaná väzba
  • Angličtina
10,95 €

10,44 €

-5 %
Na objednávku
Dodanie môže trvať viac ako 30 dní

Naši škriatkovia odporúčajú

David Walliams: Najhoršie príšery na svete. Slovart, 2024

Viac o knihe

A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher. 1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors like one of the old house's many ghosts and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. Sometimes Florence doesn't sleepwalk at all, but simply pretends to so she can roam at will and search the house for clues to her own baffling past.
After the sudden violent death of the children's first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a vengeful and malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful supernatural enemy, and without any adult to whom she can turn for help, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to both protect her little brother and preserve her private world. Inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James' s The Turn of the Screw, Florence and Giles is a gripping gothic page-turner told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice.
Čítať viac
Počet strán
240
Väzba
brožovaná väzba
Rozmer
140×200 mm
Hmotnosť
260 g
ISBN
9780007315048
Rok vydania
2011
Naše katalógové číslo
266670
Jazyk
angličtina
1. diel série
Florence and Giles
Vydavateľstvo
HarperCollins
Kategorizácia

Našli ste nepresnosti? Dajte nám, prosím, vedieť!

Nahlásiť chybu

Máte o knihe viac informácií ako je na tejto stránke alebo ste našli chybu? Budeme vám veľmi vďační, ak nám pomôžete s doplnením informácií na našich stránkach.

Kúpte spolu
Florence and Giles - John Harding, HarperCollins, 2011
It - Stephen King, Hodder and Stoughton, 2011
24,43 €
Ušetríte 2,47 €

Hodnotenia

Ako sa páčila kniha vám?

Vydavateľstvo HarperCollins

Čítať viac
Kúpte spolu
Florence and Giles - John Harding, HarperCollins, 2011
It - Stephen King, Hodder and Stoughton, 2011
24,43 €
Ušetríte 2,47 €

„Neustále sa hýbeme namiesto toho, aby si na chvíľu sadli, započúvali sa do zvuku dažďa, vypili kávu, zohriali niekomu prsia. A nikdy nepíšeme nikomu listy. “

Letné svetlo a potom príde noc - Jón Kalman Stefánsson, 2014
Letné svetlo a potom príde noc
Jón Kalman Stefánsson