Study for Obedience - Sarah Bernstein, Granta Books, 2024

13,29 €

Pri nákupe nad 49 €
poštovné zadarmo
Study for Obedience - Sarah Bernstein, Granta Books, 2024
Study for Obedience - Sarah Bernstein, Granta Books, 2024

Study for Obedience

A powerful, compressed masterwork for fans of Shirley Jackson and Claire-Louise Bennett... Čítať viac

Vydavateľstvo
Granta Books, 2024
208 strán
3 hodiny čítania

A powerful, compressed masterwork for fans of Shirley Jackson and Claire-Louise Bennett... Čítať viac

  • Brožovaná väzba
  • Angličtina
13,95 €

13,29 €

-5 %
Na sklade 2 ks
  • Osobný odber 24. 5.
  • Na vašej adrese 24. 5.

Osobný odber

Kníhkupectvá
24. 5.
balíkovo
24. 5.
AlzaBox
24. 5.
Packeta
24. 5.
Slovenská pošta
(na poštu)
24. 5.
BalíkoBOX
24. 5.

Doručenie na adresu

Kuriér Packeta HD
24. 5.
Kuriér GLS
24. 5.
Slovenská pošta
(na adresu)
24. 5.
Ďalšie knižné vydania
Study for Obedience - Sarah Bernstein, Granta Books, 2023
Pevná väzba
Angličtina, 2023
Vypredané

Naši škriatkovia odporúčajú

Cilla Börjlind, Rolf Börjlind: Oko noci. Ikar, 2024
Study for Obedience - Sarah Bernstein, Granta Books, 2024
13,29 €

Viac o knihe

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2023

NAMED AS ONE OF GRANTA MAGAZINE'S BEST OF YOUNG BRITISH NOVELISTS 2023

A powerful, compressed masterwork for fans of Shirley Jackson and Claire-Louise Bennett

A woman moves from the place of her birth to a remote northern country to be housekeeper to her brother, whose wife has just left him. The youngest child of many siblings - more than she cares to remember - from earliest childhood she has attended to their every desire, smoothed away the slightest discomfort with perfect obedience, with the highest degree of devotion. The country, it transpires, is the country of their family's ancestors, an obscure though reviled people.

Soon after she arrives, a series of unfortunate events occurs - collective bovine hysteria; the demise of a ewe and her nearly-born lamb; a local dog's phantom pregnancy; the containment of domestic fowl; a potato blight. She notices that the local suspicion about incomers in general seems to be directed particularly in her case. What is clear is that she is being accused of wrongdoing, but in a language she cannot understand and so cannot address. And however diligently and silently she toils in service of the community, still she feels their hostility growing, pressing at the edges of her brother's property.

Inside the house, although she tends to her brother and his home with the utmost care and attention, he too begins to fall ill...
Čítať viac
Počet strán
208
Väzba
brožovaná väzba
Rozmer
198×128 mm
Hmotnosť
148 g
ISBN
9781803510019
Rok vydania
2024
Naše katalógové číslo
2455095
Jazyk
angličtina
Pôvod
Kanada
Vydavateľstvo
Granta Books
Pre koho
pre dospelých
Kategorizácia

Našli ste nepresnosti? Dajte nám, prosím, vedieť!

Nahlásiť chybu

Máte o knihe viac informácií ako je na tejto stránke alebo ste našli chybu? Budeme vám veľmi vďační, ak nám pomôžete s doplnením informácií na našich stránkach.

Hodnotenia

Ako sa páčila kniha vám?

„„Čím chceš byť, keď vyrastieš?“ „Chcem byť láskavý,“ povedal chlapec.“